Wander in my Thoughts

cto

What does F. Scott Fitzgerald mean to say with “There are all kinds of love in this world but never the same love twice”?  I looked up online of how it was understood by some people.  One answer got me and it says, “It is not against second chances, just against identical chances.”  I know it’s supposed to make things clearer for me, but no.  The additional words to the already mind racking quote made it even harder for me to catch the real meaning of the thought.  What are ‘identical chances’? How does it differ from ‘second chances’?

One saying of a wise man gave birth to a thousand questions in my head.  Love alone is complicated, what more if we clasp it within expressions that make the curious young ones wonder even more? I have nothing against on how Sir Fitzgerald put it. And that is not why I am writing this.

The more I read the line, the more I couldn’t figure what it means to me.  The closest I can think of is this: There are hundreds or thousands of people you’ll meet in all throughout your journey in life, but no person can ever give you the same love.  It’s not the amount of how much they can give but how alone.  Some people can love but not sacrifice.  Some cannot trust. Some cannot find courage.  Some cannot let go. Some cannot hold on.  It’s not questioning or comparing what kind of love others give you.  But like how Sir Fitzgerald says it, or at least how I understand he says it, there are all kinds of love in this world but never the same love twice. 

To me, it means to say that the love you receive from each person has a distinctive characteristic that separates it from the other kinds of love.  I might have gotten the meaning too literal but in a way, I find it sensible to distinguish love, each from the others.  I don’t know either why it makes perfect sense to see the differences from them.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

