Daily Prompt: Stroke of Midnight

January 1:
Where were you last night when 2015 turned into 2016? Is
that where you’d wanted to be?

I was at home with my family waiting for the fireworks display the rich family from 15 minutes away our house keeps pulling off every year.

Every year, I celebrate New Years with my family.  We make dinner, we play loud music and yes, we jump to the fun like everyone else does.  It’s fun to actually stay in and just have the people you love the most to feel that moment.

cto

January 1 is the day that says we all got through another year of triumphs and trials.  It’s always a special day.

In our home, it’s a tradition to keep all the lights while we countdown to 12.  I don’t know what that means but I’d like to believe it’s our way of saying we should all look ahead with a clear vision.  Maybe we switch the lights on as a symbol to looking at things  on the bright side.  And may that happen for the rest of the year.

Is that where I wanted to be?  Yes, definitely.  I think there’s no place I could have been than where I was.  I have my family and they have me to celebrate with.  It’s more than enough to share the table with the people you love, what more can we ask for?

I wish that today, January 1, sets the bar for all the days that follow.  It’s been a good start and I hope that no other days crosses and go right under it.

cto

How has your first day of 2016 been so far?  I hope you didn’t wake up in the morning with a hangover, or you might have it all throughout the year! Just kidding.  Have it good, have fun for day one!


 

Every day is a new chance, but some days are just more special.

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Stroke of Midnight

Leave a Reply

