Daily Prompt: Call Me Ishmael

January 5:
Take the first sentence from your favorite book and make it the first sentence of your post.

“Mr. and Mrs. Dursley, of number four, Privet Drive, were proud to say that they were perfectly normal, thank you very much.”

The Harry Potter series is one of my most loved stories of all time.  Yes, I’m one of those Potterheads who cannot get over the trio and the big seven.  

Before I decided to read the book, I was a little hesitant to start because I doubted if I’d understand the plot.  I was young then and English isn’t my mother language.  I pretty much assumed that there would be tons of new vocabulary I would not be able to comprehend.  Little did I know that besides the foreign words, there awaits new adventures and lessons to unfold.

My brother was already half-way the series when I finally took Philosopher’s Stone of the shelf.  I was lucky he isn’t fond of being a spoiler because he’s a reader, too.  He knows how to keep it low for the sake of the element of surprise.

Since I have known the trio, the big seven, and all the other characters from the story, I believe a part of me has become someone else.  The best part of it, for me, is the friendship that was built within Hogwarts.  Once they were strangers, and then one day they’re just the best of friends.  They will do anything for each other like how real family would.

Another thing I love about the Harry Potter series is how well it is written.  I love the sarcastic retorts.  Everything about it is both amusing and inspiring.


 

cto

 

Leave a Reply

