Daily Prompt: This is your life

January 11:
If you could read a book containing all that has happened and will ever happen in your life, would you? If you choose to read it, you must read it cover to cover.

If I’d ever be given the chance to read a book containing all of my life, I don’t think I would take it.

Reading a book that contains all that has happened will only bring back memories, both good and bad.  Of course, I would want to remember all the good ones and reading all the bad ones will remind me of lessons I learned from them.  But, they’re in the past for a reason and I’d like to keep them where they are now.  After all, past is past.

While it’s so enticing to know what will be, it has its own dangers as well.  It can pull emotions out of us which we never know were ever inside us.  How well would you react when you know what you’ll be, who you’ll be and where you’ll be years from now? I don’t think I’d ever want to know ahead of time how my life would go because discovering the future may distract me from being in the present, from living in the moment.  It may distract me from doing all the things that will make me the person I am supposed to become when the time really comes.

cto

Live in the moment, with learnings from the past because it’s for you future.  

Leave a Reply

