Share Your Passion

I have never been in a relationship; which is why I am totally clueless about how it feels to say “Yes” to a simple question for the first time in my life.  I know it’s easy to say the word but what comes after that is what’s complicated.  Who knows about the future anyway?  We all make choices and we think we know for sure where we are and what we want until someone questions us.  Would you commit to this?  Well I thought I wasn’t ready to say yes, but I’m sure I’d not feel good saying ‘no’ either.  The thing is, who says know to something beautiful as this?

I’m sorry to disappoint but this is no love story; just something about life and where a simple choice has taken me.  I said yes and now, I am a member of this ministry in college — You think you know how things will transpire just because you know the purpose of what you’re doing, but you don’t.  Being a member of LSYC, I personally thought it was just going to be my way of giving back all the blessings I received from God and from all the people who’ve been a blessing to me.  Well, I thought wrong. Shall I tell you why?

People always say that you can’t give what you don’t have.  As part of the ministry’s activities, I was able to spend some time with the kids and I realized something: you can’t have what you don’t give eitherIf you can’t give love to people, who would love you?  If you won’t share your time with others, who would make time for you?  I mean you could feel a bit old around a bunch of 6 year olds, but these kids’ smiles tell you something only your heart would recognize.  Their innocence lightens us up, but you never realize how much it’ll inspire you until you share yourself to them.   You come to them thinking that they need you, not realizing you need them, too. Involving ourselves in such activities have a way of teaching us more than we think we already know about life and God.

Now if you would ask me, where has saying yes taken me?  It’s somewhere both the people we serve and I learn something about life, together.  I’m not just saying ‘yes’ to helping other people anymore, but I’m also saying ‘yes’ to become a family to a friend.


You come to them thinking that they need you, not realizing you need them, too.

Leave a Reply

